
The Right Way to Recover a Failed Eligibility Batch in Veritable
You upload the day's schedule before 8am, go do something else, and come back to a batch that didn't finish …

A billing manager at a six-provider practice has forty self-pay accounts sitting in a worklist this month. Some of those patients almost certainly have coverage nobody found at check-in. So she searches for insurance discovery software, and every result that comes back is written for a seven-hundred-bed health system. Uncompensated care at national scale. Patient access departments. Case studies measured in tens of millions. None of it tells her which of these tools will actually sell to a practice her size. There’s a shortcut through that, and it has nothing to do with feature lists. In this market, whether a vendor publishes a price says who they built the product for. Quick Answer Insurance discovery software finds active insurance coverage for patients who present as self-pay or uninsured, using only demographic details like name and date of birth. It is different from eligibility verification, which confirms a plan already on file. Three of the eight tools below publish an actual price. This article covers:
Insurance discovery is the process of finding active insurance coverage for a patient whose coverage was never provided, was recorded wrongly, or was not known at the time of service. It works from whatever identifying detail exists rather than from a plan the patient handed over at the desk. The phrase self-pay does a lot of hidden work here. In practice it covers two different people. One genuinely has no insurance. The other has coverage nobody captured, because a plan lapsed and restarted, a secondary policy went unmentioned, Medicaid was granted retroactively, the policy sits under a spouse’s name, or a registration field was left blank on a busy morning. Only the second is recoverable, and nothing in the chart tells the two apart. That is the gap discovery fills. It runs against accounts already sitting in a self-pay bucket, against a schedule before the visit, or against a claim that came back denied for no active coverage. Where it finds a plan, the account moves out of self-pay and gets billed. Where it finds nothing, the balance is confirmed rather than assumed, which is worth something on its own. A self-pay balance somebody has actually checked is a different collections conversation from one nobody has.
Buying the wrong one of these two is the most common mistake in this category, and the vocabulary makes it easy. They sound like one job. They start from opposite places.
| Insurance discovery | Eligibility verification | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | No plan on file, or the one on file is wrong | A plan already on file |
| Question it answers | Does this patient have coverage at all? | Is this plan active, and what does it pay? |
| What you send | Name, date of birth, sometimes an SSN | A payer and a member ID |
| What comes back | Every plan found, with benefit detail | Status and benefits for that one plan |
| Usual trigger | An account in a self-pay bucket, or a denial for no coverage | A scheduled visit or a check-in |
| Who runs it | Billing, working a self-pay worklist | Front desk, at or before check-in |
| Fails when | The patient genuinely has no coverage | There is nothing on file to check |
Insurance discovery works by searching on the patient instead of on the plan. Where an eligibility check sends a known member ID to a single payer, discovery sends patient demographics across a network of payers and third-party data sources at once. Then it reports back whatever it finds. The inputs are ordinary. Name, date of birth, and sometimes a social security number. No member ID goes in, because there isn’t one, and that absence is the reason the search has to work differently from an eligibility check. The output is one or more found plans, usually with benefit detail attached. Tools vary in three ways worth comparing: how wide the payer and third-party data network behind the search is, whether the result carries a confidence signal or a plain yes or no, and whether the search stops at the first plan it finds or continues on to secondary and tertiary coverage. The natural question at this point is how often it actually works. Every published answer to that comes from the vendor being asked.
A quote from one vendor means very little next to a quote from another until it is clear which model produced it. Coverage discovery is sold three structurally different ways. Per search. A price per check, whether or not coverage is found. Predictable, and it means paying for every miss, so a low hit rate on a particular patient population hurts directly. Where per-check pricing is published it usually comes in volume tiers, with the rate falling as monthly volume rises. The number that matters is the rate at the volume actually being run, not the one at the top tier. Contingency. A percentage of the reimbursement recovered. Nothing changes hands at signup, which is why it is easy to say yes to, and it is the most expensive model once volume arrives. It also pays the vendor for finding coverage rather than for being right about it. Flat subscription. One monthly figure, often with unlimited checks. Flat pricing rewards high volume and penalises a small self-pay panel, because the same monthly fee covers thirty searches and three thousand. Here is where the market divides, and it is not along the line most buyers expect. Of the eight tools below, three publish an actual number, one publishes a model without a figure, and the remaining four publish neither. The second question, and the one buyers ask later than they should, is what the contract does. A rate means little without the term attached to it. Three of the eight say anything at all: one commits to no lock-in and cancellation at any time, one to self-service cancellation with no term stated, and one to a one-year term payable quarterly with an onboarding fee on top. The other five publish nothing either way, which is not evidence of a long contract, only of a conversation the buyer has to have before signing.
The recovery figures in this market are enormous, and not one of them carries third-party verification. Experian Health reports that its product identified “over $60 billion in insurance coverage across 45+ million unique patient cases in 2024 alone”. FinThrive reports “over $7.8 billion in net revenue and cash recovered for customers” and an average reimbursement increase of $50,000 per month at one Midwest health system. ZOLL claims discovery on over 40% of self-pay patients. Inovalon reports a 43% average identification hit rate on uninsured accounts. maxRTE claims 15 to 25%. ZOLL, Inovalon and maxRTE are describing the same metric across a 28-point spread. Hit rate is a property of the patient population, not of the software. A 40% hit rate on a hospital emergency department population predicts almost nothing about a dermatology practice’s self-pay list. Emergency patients arrive unconscious, uninsured on paper, and frequently covered by Medicaid retroactively. A scheduled specialty patient who says they have no insurance usually means it. So the useful question to put to any vendor is not what their hit rate is. It is what their hit rate was on a panel that looks like this one, and whether they will say.
Two things decide whether one of these tools is worth a demo: whether the vendor will sell to an organisation this size, and what it costs once they do. The tests below are built around those two questions, and every tool was put through all of them. Eight axes, applied to every tool: segment fit, whether pricing is published, which pricing model applies, whether contract terms and lock-in are published, what the product actually does, how it finds coverage, how long it takes to reach a first result, and what it integrates with. The inclusion bar was three tests. The tool sells insurance discovery rather than eligibility verification relabeled. It serves the US market. And it has a live product page that can be cited and dated.
Pricing and product detail are current as of September 2026. The order runs from tools a small practice can buy toward tools built around a hospital patient access department.
| Tool | Built for | Pricing published | Pricing model | Contract terms published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| eClaimStatus | Group and solo practices, hospitals, labs | No | Not stated | No. 15-day free trial offered |
| Veritable | Practices, billers, RCM teams | Yes | Per search | Yes. Zero lock-in, cancel anytime |
| pVerify | Hospitals and providers | Yes | Monthly tiers by transaction volume | Yes. One-year term, payable quarterly |
| Office Ally | Teams with no technical resource to spare | Yes | Monthly fee plus per-transaction | Yes. Self-service cancellation, no term stated |
| maxRTE | Hospitals, health systems, RCM providers | No | Model only | No |
| Inovalon | Hospitals and health systems | No | Not stated | No |
| Experian Health | Hospitals and health systems | No | Not stated | No |
| ZOLL AR Boost | Billers, EMS agencies, labs | No | Not stated | No |
Company: Founded in 2016 by Jey Murugesh and based in Austin, Texas. It has taken no outside funding, and it was built by healthcare professionals aiming at small and large practices and medical billing companies at a competitive rate. Its eligibility network covers more than 1,080 payers.
What it does: Identifies commercial and federal coverage that was “previously unknown, uncollected, forgotten, missed or withheld during patient registration,” and returns coordination of benefits information alongside it. Best for: Small providers. Its customer list names group and solo practices directly, alongside hospitals, clinical laboratories, radiology, anesthesiology and urgent care. Few discovery vendors name small providers at all.
Key features:
Pricing: None published. The first real number arrives through a sales conversation.
Company: Built by 314e Corporation, a healthcare IT company whose portfolio also covers data archival and analytics, EHR training, document processing, integration, and Epic consulting. Veritable is its revenue cycle product, and insurance discovery sits inside it alongside eligibility and claim status.
What it does: Finds billable coverage for self-pay patients from name, date of birth and SSN. One search returns “every plan found, each with full benefits straight from the payer’s response”, rather than one plan at a time, and every check run is logged for audit. Best for: Medical practices, front desk and billing staff, and RCM teams working a self-pay worklist, where the job is catching coverage that was misclassified before it turns into bad debt.
Key features:
Pricing: $1.50 per call. Zero lock-in, and you pay only for the checks you run.
Company: Founded in 2006 and based in Tustin, California, and acquired by DoseSpot in June 2023. It runs real-time and batch eligibility for medical, dental and vision providers across more than 1,500 payers, with over 140 APIs, and holds HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II compliance.
What it does: Locates coverage from name and date of birth, retrieves verified benefit details including subscriber IDs, and identifies primary, secondary and tertiary policies. Best for: Hospitals and providers, a broader audience than most discovery vendors address.
Key features:
Pricing: Insurance Discovery starts at $120 a month for up to 80 transactions, or $390 a month for up to 200, on a one-year term payable quarterly, with an onboarding fee from $495.
Company: Founded in 2000 and based in Vancouver, Washington. It is one of the larger clearinghouses in the country, processing roughly 25 million claims a month for more than 720,000 providers and 4,000 payers. Francisco Partners invested in 2021, and New Mountain Capital took a stake in a deal announced in April 2025.
What it does: Finds insurance coverage for a self-pay population, and describes itself as one of the most affordable and uncomplicated tools for the job. Initial searches reach back one to two years to catch coverage that was active at the time of service. Best for: Teams with no technical resource to spare, and teams that want to test a tool before buying one. It offers a free assessment run on the organization’s own data, including for teams that already use a different tool.
Key features:
Pricing: $10 a month covering the first 15 patient transactions, then $0.75 for each one after that, invoiced at the start of every month whether or not any transactions are sent. Third-party pass-through fees may be added without markup. Cancellation is self-service, through a button in Account Management, with no term or notice period stated.
Company: Founded in 2014 and based in Burnsville, Minnesota, developed by Healthcare Fiscal Management. Carla Larin has been chief executive since December 2021. It is a specialist rather than a suite: insurance discovery and eligibility are the whole of what it sells.
What it does: Finds coverage for self-pay patients across commercial, government and exchange plans, and publishes an ROI calculator for estimating recovery before buying. Best for: Hospitals and health systems, and RCM providers. Its case studies run hospital-heavy: a 700-bed system that found $720,000 in 90 days, a 245-bed Georgia system, and Premier Health in Ohio. The one named RCM customer, Cascade365, processed nearly a million accounts.
Key features:
Pricing: Flat monthly subscription with unlimited transactions. The figure itself is not published.
Company: Founded in 1998, listed publicly in 2015, and taken private in 2021 for $7.3 billion by a consortium led by Nordic Capital with Insight Partners and 22C Capital. It reported $667.5 million in revenue for 2020 with roughly 1,800 staff, and it sells to payers, providers and pharmaceutical companies rather than to providers alone.
What it does: Identifies primary, secondary and tertiary coverage through a single search, and returns the patient’s Medicare Beneficiary Identifier and verified demographic detail in the same inquiry. Best for: Hospitals and health systems. Its named customer is a Universal Health Services facility, and the product is pitched at uncompensated care at volume.
Key features:
Pricing: None published. Its published return figures assume $1.50 per transaction, which is an input to that calculation rather than a quoted rate.
Company: The healthcare division of Experian, the credit bureau and data analytics group founded in 1968 and headquartered in Dublin. The division says it serves more than 60% of US hospitals along with thousands of practices, labs and pharmacies.
What it does: Coverage Discovery searches for unreported commercial and government coverage across a national data footprint. Experian reports identifying coverage across more than 45 million patient cases in 2024. Best for: Hospitals and health systems with a patient access team to run it.
Key features:
Pricing: None published.
Company: Part of ZOLL Data Systems, a division of ZOLL Medical, which was founded in 1980 and has been part of Japan’s Asahi Kasei Group since 2012. AR Boost began life as Payor Logic, which ZOLL acquired at the end of 2018 and rebranded in 2019. Its roots are in EMS billing, and it has since expanded into hospitals and billing companies.
What it does: Explores coverage options for patients presenting as self-pay and finds billable primary, secondary and tertiary coverage in real time. Best for: Healthcare billers, emergency medicine billers and labs.
Key features:
Pricing: None published.
If the coverage is already known and the failure is at the front desk, discovery is an expensive answer to the wrong question. A patient hands over a card, the subscriber ID gets mistyped, and the claim comes back denied. Discovery software will not help there, because the plan was never unknown. That is a data-capture problem, and it gets fixed at registration or in an eligibility check, not by searching for coverage that was already in hand. A genuinely uninsured population is the other case. If a practice’s self-pay patients really do lack coverage, a low hit rate makes per-search pricing punishing and contingency pricing pointless. The tool works correctly and finds nothing, repeatedly, at cost. And at real volume, with a patient access team to run it, a hospital-scale vendor is the right call. The tools built for health systems are built that way for reasons, and a practice-sized tool would buckle under an emergency department’s daily self-pay list.
Sorting this market by who publishes a price and who they name as customers produces a shortlist faster than any feature comparison does. Four of these eight publish nothing at all about cost, and three of those four sell primarily to hospitals, health systems, or emergency and laboratory billers. Five publish nothing about contract terms. There’s a pattern underneath that worth naming. Published pricing and a product you can evaluate unaided tend to travel together, because a vendor that expects a sales conversation first has little reason to print a rate at all. For a five-person billing team with forty self-pay accounts and no procurement process, being able to start on a Tuesday afternoon matters more than the rate. Practices and RCM teams weighing this can explore Veritable’s Insurance Discovery to see what a published-price, no-contract option looks like in practice.
Join over 3,200 subscribers and keep up-to-date with the latest innovations & best practices in Healthcare IT.

You upload the day's schedule before 8am, go do something else, and come back to a batch that didn't finish …

Here's a situation that comes up more than you'd think. Your organization's NPI record still lists a former …

Every behavioral health biller can rattle off their top denial reasons without thinking too hard. Eligibility …
No pricing page to dig through. No demo call to sit through first. Just what you'd actually pay, sent straight to your inbox.
One email. Zero spam.